• Thu 25/3 at 19
  • Oulu Music Centre
    Madetoja Concert Hall
  • 32/26/16 €Buy ticket


Thu, 25 March 2021 at 19
Oulu Music Centre, Madetoja Concert Hall
(Leevi Madetojan katu 1-3, Oulu)

Tickets 32/26/16 €
Oulu Symphony Orchestra season ticket holders 23 €
Ticketmaster Suomi across the country. Service fee will be added to the ticket price. Tickets without the service fee can be purchased from Oulu10 Service Points.

Concert duration approx. 1 h 50 min (including intermission)

Oulu Symphony Orchestra
Jukka Perko | saxophone
Elina Vähälä | violin
Jaakko Kuusisto | conductor

Outi Tarkiainen’s Saxophone Concerto Saivo is an intense and brilliant sonic adventure full of a mysterious sense of waiting. The word ”saivo” originates from the ancient Sami belief in a two-bottomed lake, where under a lake dwells another lake and world inhabited by otherworldly creatures – the exact mirror image of our world.

Jaakko Kuusisto’s Violin Concerto was commissioned by Elina Vähälä in 2012 and it has since been performed around the world by her. The concerto has also gotten attention from some notable composers and musicians. The composer John Corigliano has referred to the piece as follows: ”It is so refreshing to hear beautiful music that is composed in our time.” Pete Townshend from The Who has said the concerto to be ”mind-blowing”. Kuusisto’s concerto winks at the opening piece of the concert, ”Short Ride In A Fast Machine”, by one of the greatest composers of our time, John Adams.

The leaving artistic director Jaakko Kuusisto says: ”The past nine years as the artistic director of Oulu Music Festival have been an unforgettable experience which I will leave behind with sadness but also happy. I’m happy that my work will be passed on to two wonderful people, Elina and Jukka, who will bring the best possbile know-how and vision to the future of the festival. It was obvious to me that I wanted them to be a part of this concert by which I want to thank the audience in Oulu and everyone who has supported the festival during the past years.”

John Adams: Short Ride In A Fast Machine
Outi Tarkiainen: Saxophone Concerto ”Saivo
Jaakko Kuusisto: Violin Concerto